Noob needs help

paddler1000

Good Post Points
Welder
miller mig
Hey guys, I'm trying to weld a 3/8" thick thumb pin bracket to a mini-excavator boom arm and need help. I'm using .030 flux core wire and have my Miller 210 set on 5 with a wire feed of 65 per the machines labels. Getting very splotchy weld and need advice. Obviously I have limited experience, just trying to learn to do it right. Any advice appreciated.

Attachments

• 2022-12-08 15.16.23.jpg
    2022-12-08 15.16.23.jpg
    504.3 KB · Views: 78
  • 2022-12-08 15.17.45.jpg
    2022-12-08 15.17.45.jpg
    586.8 KB · Views: 81
  • 2022-12-08 15.09.37.jpg
    2022-12-08 15.09.37.jpg
    600.1 KB · Views: 97

Huntingky

Good Post Points
Welder
Miller MIG and Tombstone stick
I am no real welder but I would crank the voltage up on that, and if you have a torch, maybe pre-heat that area of the boom arm. Lot of steel there and you need all the heat you can get. Don't be afraid to max it out.
As mentioned by bbcm, if you have access to a stick, it might be the better solution.

lancem

Good Post Points
Welder
Amico MIG-140GS, Hobart 140, Miller 225
Agree with the above, I'd run the machine wide open, and heavier wire if you have it. Get a good puddle going and slowly drag it along, you are going to need a lot of heat.

cavdweller

Good Post Points
Welder
Lincoln 255
It looks to me that you need much better prep...there is a lot of rust and loose paint there. Flux core handles dirt fairly well but not THAT well. Also looks like you need more heat and maybe check your ground.

AK Marty

Good Post Points
Welder
Lincoln SA200
Be sure you are running electrode negative when using flux core wire. Also you need to grind out what you have tried to weld in there and prepare the joint area much better, smooth up those torched off plates and lose all the old paint. You may need to use the next higher voltage setting on your welder. Good luck and keep practicing.

Yomax4

Good Post Points