Settings for Chicago Electric

Lefty

Top Poster Of Month
Good Post Points
Welder
Stick, Wire
I have a Chicago Electric 125 amp AC flux core machine I picked up from Harbor Freight. I have to weld up some 1/16 inch square tubing. I'm putting together a basic rectangle with right angles. I did not miter the corners, just butting them up. The final project will actually look more like an "H". Meaning, I'm not near the end on one side of the work. I thought leaving myself 2 fillets rather than dealing with two edges on the same weld would be wiser. I'm looking for advice for a starting point on wire dimension, power setting, and wire speed. I've been struggling. I have 30 and 35 wire. The welder has a dial wire feed knob that goes to 10. There are only two options for amperage, high or low. I'm wondering if anyone has any experience with this particular welder on this type of material. I am a novice.

Thank you

CA_Bgrwldr

Good Post Points
Welder
Hobarts
While not having experience with the HF machine, based on what you have, you will want to use .030 wire, low setting, likely start on speed 5, and adjust the speed up/down from there.

To keep from burning through the tube, start your butt weld on the on the solid side of the tube and bring it to the open end section of the tube, also, with as thin of steel you are using, you will want to stitch weld it, as trying to do a continuous weld, will generate too much heat and you will burn through the material.

Lefty

Top Poster Of Month
Good Post Points
Welder
Stick, Wire
I appreciate it. Thank you.

California

Good Post Points
I had HF's previous version of that AC flux welder for several years. Let's just say there's a narrow range of projects it's suitable for. In particular, hi/low as the only voltage choices doesn't match what some projects need.