Need Welding Helmet Advice ....

Dan

Good Post Points
Welder
migstar
OK ... so I got my first welding helmet when I was 14 ... simple old time Fibre-Metal unit. Still have it 44 years later.

That said, it is time for an auto darkening unit. I had a cheap one once (probably Harbor Freight) .. about 15 years ago ... it kind of worked.

I do a bit of everything .... stick, MIG, TIG ....

So I started looking ... had never even heard about "true color" ... or Optical 1/1/1/2 or 1/1/1/1

Soooooooo .... where do I begin?

I see you can spend $50 to $500

Since I am more of a hobbyist (I am a retired machinist .. build the odd trailer .. always repairing something) ... I would like to stay in the lower end of the scale if possible.

That said, I want to be safe and keep my eye sight.

Any suggestions?

Thanks .... Mike
I had all kinds of issues welding because I couldn't see using the cheap Harbor freight auto darkening hood. I finally bought the Vulcan auto darkening hood from Harbor Freight when it was on sale. What a difference it works like a helmet should work my welds are 1000 % better. Try it you won't regret it.

Old Irish

Good Post Points
Welder
Lincoln SW200,PowerMig 180, A/C225 with rectifier, 2 Chinese plasma, stick, tig- 1-Chinese stick w/hot start&arc force and 1 Chinese 205A mig
I had all kinds of issues welding because I couldn't see using the cheap Harbor freight auto darkening hood. I finally bought the Vulcan auto darkening hood from Harbor Freight when it was on sale. What a difference it works like a helmet should work my welds are 1000 % better. Try it you won't regret it.
in my opinion the Vulcan hood is as good as the Lincoln Viking hood, I have used both and I think the Vulcan may very well be a copy of the Viking. I highly recommend it.

PILOON

Good Post Points
Welder
Hobart 200 stick
LOL, OK, 'I'm in the over the hill club' but I still weld!
Advantage is that since I've now got 'natural shakes' welding is actually easier.

Gary Fowler